Letter from week of November 23rd 2015

Momma,

The Elders in our ward had a baptism this weekend that we helped out with. She is 84 years old and is one of the sharpest women I have ever met! She is amazing. You would never have known that she wasn’t a member her whole life. We had the privilege of helping her prepare for her baptism and then spend time with her on the way to stake conference yesterday. (Our stake center is about 35 minutes away). We sat up in the very front because she is hard of hearing and has implants, but I think it helped me to focus more.
It was an amazing conference! It was all about missionary work, so how could I not love it? They had 3 youth speakers that are leaving on their missions soon. Two of them have been members for less than 2 years. The other one is from El Salvador and just arrived to the USA not too long ago because her father died unexpectedly and her and her sister had no more family in El Salvador. They came to the states to meet and live with their mother. One girl is the only member in her family. All three of them had powerful testimonies of the restored gospel and the Atonement of Jesus Christ. They all understand what their call to serve a mission is about- bringing others to Christ.

This Thanksgiving season, I hope that you can take a few minutes and offer a prayer of Gratitude for all your many blessings. I have been learning that when we acknowledge our gratitude, our faith increases. When we give thanks for all our blessings, we are blessed even more. Isn’t God so good?!

I want to tell you how thankful I am for you, for dad, and for our whole family. You help me to learn who God is, who my Savior is, and who I am. You make me do the hard things that give me opportunities to learn for myself. You stand by me in all of my ambitions, goals and dreams. You teach through example. You have always given me everything that I need to be successful in life, and in eternity. You love me. I am so grateful that you are my family, and I love you so much. I am so grateful for you.

Love,
Sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

