Missionary Letter for week of September 28th 2015

Momma,

This week I have learned a ton! Something that I have been studying lately is charity and consecration. I want to share a few quotes from a talk by Lawrence E Corbridge (who will be visiting our mission next month!).

“You cannot be changed to become more like God, if within your heart you fight against God, if within your heart you resist, resent and hold fast to what your would rather do.”

“Be true and faithful in your head and your heart, not just in your behavior.”

This is a quote by C.S Lewis where the Lord says to us, “Give me all. I don’t want so much of your time, so much of your talents and money, so much of your work: I want you. All of you. I have not come to torment or frustrate the natural man, but to kill it. No half-measures will do. I don’t want to only prune a branch here and another there; rather, I want the whole tree out. Hand it all over to me, the whole outfit, all of your desires, all of your wants and wishes and dreams. Turn them all over to me, give yourself to me and I will make of you a new self in my image. Give me yourself and in exchange I will give you Myself. My will, shall become your will. My heart shall become your heart. ”

Alma 5:19- “I say unto you, can ye look up to God at that day with a pure heart and clean hands? I say unto you, can you look up, having the image of God engraven upon your countenances?”

I hope that you will be willing to not only give of your time, talents, money, and work, but also your heart. That is when we truly become like God and have His image engraven upon our countenance.

I love you and I hope that you have a fantastic week! Love you

Sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

