Letter for week of June 8th 2015

Momma,

This week was a really good one! I learned a lot of things this week and saw a lot of miracles!

To start off…

We were asked to help with some flood relief up in Houston this week. We rode up with a few other Sisters in a nearby zone. We met at one of the church buildings and correlated with other missionaries, got supplies, and headed off to work. Our primary responsibility was to determine if there were any homes that had not yet been drained of the water, stripped their carpets and damaged/moldy furniture removed from the home. We were then to bleach and mop everything down for them and report back.

We were in areas that were hit the worst by the flood. The damage was intense. As we drove down one street I saw a young mother putting her baby in the car and then look back at her husband bringing pieces of their destroyed home out and throwing it on the curb. I wanted to jump out of the car and run to her and hug her and tell her it would all be alright; but I couldn’t.

All around me were destroyed homes. Each home had a large pile in front of it filled with moldy, wet carpet, drywall, furniture and other belongings. I couldn’t help but feel extreme gratitude for my many blessings- especially that of knowing that my treasures in life will never become molded, rusty, or decayed. My mind continued to ponder upon the scripture in 3 Nephi 13:19-20 Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and thieves break through and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through and steal.

We had a great (and humbling) time helping in the flood relief and giving service to these people who had lost a majority of their earthly possessions. We met wonderful people and enjoyed serving with other missionaries.

On a much lighter note…

As I was riding my bike this week, I received a lovely little present from an anonymous bird friend. Yes, I got pooped on! I was super lucky though because it didn’t get on my clothes or anything. It landed in the perfect spot- right under my collar bone. It was pretty hilarious. I called to Sister Campbell who was riding up in front of me and I just lost it. I was laughing so hard, I about started crying as I tried to tell her why we needed to stop for a minute. After cleaning it up and finally regaining my composure, we started biking again. That’s when a sketchy looking, worn down, old brown ice cream van pulled over. The man driving yelled out the window to me, “Free wata for missionaries!” in his Nigerian accent. Come to find out, this nice man gives free cold water bottles to any missionaries that he sees. He has a lovely collection of pass- a- long cards and pictures of Christ on his dash board.

We watched Meet The Mormons this week with a few people in our ward who are recent converts to the church. It is such a great movie! If you haven’t seen it, or haven’t seen it in a while, I suggest you watch it!

We had an awesome opportunity to teach some really (and I mean REALLY) smart kids this week. Our Bishop’s son Josh invited two of his friends over for a lesson. They all graduated high school this week. One of the kids is of East Indian descent and when asked his religious beliefs he said that he was an “agnostic Hindu”. He said he lives the Hindu culture, but he doesn’t feel like he has found truth, hence the agnostic part. He just doesn’t know.
The other young man comes from a catholic background and firmly believes in Jesus Christ. It was very interesting to teach these boys about Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father. They asked a lot of very deep questions, so of which I have never before thought of. I am so grateful for the Holy Ghost being my constant companion and my guide, because there is no way I would have been able to know scriptures or information to answer those questions all on my own. I am grateful for questions which cause me to ponder and to seek deeper. It builds my testimony as I rely upon the Spirit and seek for Divine guidance. It is experiences like this that I long for as a missionary- when everyone leaves feeling uplifted and enlightened and brought closer to the presence of the Lord.

I LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

