Letter for week of June 1st 2015

Momma,

The storms have been brewing! I think this week is finally supposed to be clear…. Maybe? The sky is cool to watch as the storms come in. We have been very blessed and are always in the right places at the right time so that we are not stuck on our bikes out in the storm. We also have a lot of great members that keep tabs on us and make sure that we are safe.

This week was great! We have been working hard to find new people to teach. We have found a few young girls that are graduating High school soon that are seeking for some direction. It is the perfect time for them to receive the Gift of the Holy Ghost to help them during their “decade of decision”. We are also teaching a 7 year old girl who belongs to a part member family. She turns 8 this month and so we get to help er prepare for baptism. She is the first kid that I have really taught on my mission, and it is so much fun! She is so excited to see us and she reads everything that we give her.

Yesterday was a really special day at church. We had a neat sacrament program where 4 converts to the church told their conversion stories. They all had very different experiences, but one thing that stood out to me was how grateful they were for the changes that took place in them as they began to act in faith and live the gospel. It was really neat for me to see how their leap of faith not only changed them- but their whole future. Their adorable little families were sitting right in front of me, and it was cool to see the fruits of their personal conversion right in front of me.

During gospel principles class we talked about Faith in Jesus Christ. It was the perfect lesson to have right after a powerful sacrament meeting. The teacher asked us if/when in our lives we had felt compelled to know the truth for ourselves.
I pondered on that question for a minute and then an experience that I had almost forgotten about came very vividly back to my memory. There have been many times where I have felt compelled to pray to know the truth for myself, and I am grateful for all the opportunities that I have taken to reconfirm my knowledge of the truth.

I know that God and Jesus Christ live. I know that Jesus Christ truly is my Savior. I know that this is Christ’s church on the earth today and that it has been restored in its fullness through the Prophet Joseph Smith. I know that the Book of Mormon is Gods word. I know that true joy and peace can only be found as we keep Gods commandments.

Love you always and forever,
Sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

