Missionary Letter April 27th 2015

There are so many miracles that have happened this last week, I don’t even know how to tell you how blessed we have been!
We have been teaching a lady for almost a month now, but we had only had two lessons with her because she is sick and she is a PHD student and mother. When we first met with her we invited her to be baptized on May 1st, which was a month away… plenty of time to learn. But because of circumstances, we felt that May 1st would be too soon and we were praying to find out which day she would be prepared to be baptized. May 1st was the only day that felt right. We invited her to pray about it. We fasted for her last week. She texted us last Friday and said that she had spoken with her husband and he agreed that she could be baptized and she wanted to get baptized at the earliest possible, May 1st! We were so excited, and then realized she still needed all the lessons in less than a week! We taught her that night and started with Word of Wisdom, because that has to be lived for a week before baptism. As we read that we must abstain from coffee and tea, her eyes got really wide. She asked, “no tea or coffee?”. We replied, “no.” She simply said, “okay.” Then she got up from the couch and turned off the stove saying, “I won’t be needing this then.” She was making a pot of tea.

Her faith in her Savior is so strong that she did not even question this commandment. She knew that if the Lord had given the commandment, she would follow it. She reminded me of Nephi and his determination to go and fulfill the Lords command to get the plates. The famous scripture echoed in my ear, “I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded for I know that the Lord giveth no commandment unto the children of men save he shall prepare a way that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.”
Because of her great faith and her desire to follow her Savior, will be baptized this Friday!

There are many other miracles happening and I am so grateful to have the opportunity to be a missionary and be a part of hastening the Lord’s work. I feel much like Ammon when he exclaims, ” I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy.”

We experience great joy when we are able to be instruments in the Lords hands! Seeing people come out of darkness and finding hope through the gospel is the greatest blessing and opportunity! When we follow Jesus Christ we are filled with his light and the darkness is dispelled.

Have a wonderful week!
Love you!
Sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

