Letter January 5th 2015

This last week was awesome! I dropped Sister Cotton off in Houston and then I went on exchanges with Sister Jones and Hermana Savage. We were covering an english area and a spanish area. I got to work in the spanish area for two days! It was a little rough, but we saw so many miracles! I was really blessed with gifts of the Spirit in order to communicate with the people. Such a HUGE miracle. I prayed in spanish in two lessons and then I read in El Libro de Mormon with a few investigators. I even had a few small conversations. It was so cool. I know it was all a miracle from the Spirit because I couldn’t speak spanish unless it was to an investigator. haha. But it was awesome!

This Saturday we were able to go to the temple with a member for her first time EVER and we watched her do baptisms and confirmations for 3 of her ancestors. She was so overwhelmed with the Spirit that she broke down crying. It was amazing because I could literally see the light come into her eyes while we were there in the temple. She was glowing and I have never seen her more happy since I have been in Victoria. I know that was a life changing experience for her and being able to be there with her was such a great privilege for me. Now we just need to help her get to the temple with her husband to be sealed and start their journey to forever!

This week I have been reflecting a lot on potential and goals. I remembered the talk by President Uchtdorf that I used in my farewell talk titled Your Potential, Your Privilege. I read it again and man do I have a lot to do to live up to my potential. I am so grateful for the opportunities that I am having on my mission and most especially in the Temple where I am able to learn more and more about my potential as a daughter of God. The temple is my favorite place on earth and I am so grateful for the many opportunities that I have to go there.

This week a sweet little old lady that we have taught a few times agreed to be baptized. We haven’t set a date for her yet because she is going to be starting Chemotherapy again soon, but we are sure excited for her. She has been catholic all her life, but recognizes that what we have been teaching her is going to provide her with more. She has been reading the Book of Mormon on her own and loves it. She finds it “very interesting.” I am so grateful to see the way that people’s demeanor changes as they begin to read the Book of Mormon and to accept the teachings of the Gospel into their lives. They are so much happier and have such a glow about them. It is such a great privilege to see the power of the Atonement working.
Well, I love you! I hope that you have a wonderful new year and that you are able to make goals that will help you come closer to reaching your divine potential as a child of God.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Love,
Sister Elliott
Also… We made a goal as an entire mission to help 60 people be baptized during January. Will you please pray that we will be able to find those who are prepared so that we can meet that goal? I have also felt that there are 2 people who are prepared for baptism in the Victoria area. Would you be willing to pray to help me and Sister Williams to find and teach effectively so that we can help them to prepare to be baptized this month?

Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

