Letter from December 22nd 2014

Mom,

I have been getting a few Christmas cards from the ward members. Everyone is so sweet! I really am so blessed to have so many amazing and loving people in my life! Everyone I have ever met has truly helped me to gain my testimony throughout the years and help me to make it out here on my mission. I am so grateful to be so loved by so many. I truly can feel the power of others’ prayers in my behalf, and it is very humbling to me. I am excited for you and dad to have a new calling- you will be great! I know that you will be able to influence these kids and make a lasting impression on them just as my teachers have.

I am so excited to see you all on Christmas! It will be wonderful to see all of your faces! I love and miss you and I hope that y’all have an amazing Christmas Eve!
The work is going great here. We had a less active we have been working with come to church this Sunday! Even though his wife was sick, he still came. He loved it! He said he was so grateful that he finally made it back.

We sang in the choir for the Christmas program on Sunday, and it was incredible! The Spirit definitely helped me out and it was a great experience for me. I am learning so much about music that I have never learned before. The Lord really gives us opportunities to grow and to learn if we just accept them. I am really learning to love singing. Still not so good at it, but loving it none the less. Haha.

We have a new investigator that is super awesome! We gave him a bible last week, and he asked his pastor if he could come to church with us… and his pastor said YES! He didn’t come this week, but hopefully next week. We met with him on Saturday and gave him a Book of Mormon and taught the restoration. He was really open to it. He loves learning about God! It is really cool to meet people who have such a great love and enthusiasm for God and Jesus Christ, even when they have had such rough lives and live is extremely humble circumstances.

We went caroling last night with the Elders and some of the members (Gregory Fam and a few others) to some widows, less actives, non-members and investigators. It was really special to see their hearts open and be filled with the Spirit of Christmas and the love of God. Their hearts were touched, but I think even more so my heart was touched. As I sang those Christmas hymns about my Savior, I was filled with His love for these people, and for all of us. He truly is the greatest gift. I am so grateful for my Savior!

I love the Christmas Season!

See you in a few days!
LOVE YOU!
Sister Elliott-

Leave a Reply

