Letter from November 24th 2014

Momma,
I guess you will find out from reading my other emails… but I was transferred from Sunnyside! I am going to really miss the people there, but I am so excited to go somewhere new. I went from the ghetto to the…. country! I am out in Victoria- the middle of nowhere, and I love it! Our area is HUGE! We don’t go to most of it because it takes 1-2 hours to get to certain places in our area and we just don’t have that kind of time or the miles to do that. This is what I had in mind when I got my call to Texas. Our ward is pretty big. We have about 200 people each sunday… but that is nothing compared to how many members there are. There are about 600 members on the ward list, so TONS of inactives. We are doing a lot of re-activating here.
I love the members here!! I was surprised, but there are a lot of them that are transplants from Utah. Lots of them are here as engineers and stuff working for oil companies.
My companion is Sister Cotton. She is awesome! She was originally called to serve in Brasil, but she didn’t get her visa and just ended up staying here. This is her last transfer, so I am killing another one… Bummer! All my friends are dead or dying. I don’t like it. Sister Cotton is from a tiny little town called Beulahville in North Carolina. I am being tested every morning because Sister Cotton has chronic migraines and so she sleeps in during exercise, therefore I have to get up and exercise on my own. Satan knows that I love my sleep and every day it is a challenge, but I am doing it! We are working hard and having a good time. Sister Cotton is awesome and I am excited to get to know her better.
Since I am in the middle of nowhere in the country, we don’t go to the mission office much. (It is over 2 hours to get there). Please send all mail- letters and packages to this new address: (except for the christmas stuff… They want that at the mission home I guess..)

2107 N. Ben Jordan
Apt # 1610
Victoria, TX 77901

You can tell everyone to send mail here for now. I should be here for at least 2 transfers… so at least 12 weeks. Thanks!!!
So I wanted to write today a little bit about obedience. Why do we obey?
There are 3 reasons for obedience:
1. Fear.
2. Reward.
3. Love.
Why do we keep the commandments?
Is it because we fear the wrath of God, or the consequences of our actions?
Is it because we want those promised blessings?
Is it because we truly LOVE God and want to please him?
I would encourage y’all to look inside and determine your motives. Why do you do the things you do? Do your actions come from love?
Remember that decisions determine destiny. What decisions are you making, and why are you making them?
“When obedience ceases to be an irritant and becomes our quest, in that moment God will endow us with power.”- President Ezra Taft Benson
I love you and I am so grateful for you! Thank you for your words of gratitude and for sharing some of Sister Desimon’s talk with me. I am so grateful for you and dad and your examples. The longer I am on my mission, the more homes I see inside of, and the more grateful I am that I was raised by amazing parents in a good home. I really have been so blessed throughout my life and I know that it all started with you. Thank you for raising me the way you did. I love you so much.
LOVE,
sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

