Letter November 10th 2014

I love the temple so much! I went again this week and it was seriously the best thing ever. We went as a mission and learned in the temple from the temple president and our mission president. I don’t know that I have ever felt the spirit so strongly in my entire life.

President Ashton asked us to ponder on some specific questions while in the temple, then we discussed them. As I pondered how the endowment teaches us about Christ and His atonement, I reflected on a study I had recently about the robes of righteousness and the white raiment with which I might be clothed as spoken of in the book of Revelations. Just as I had concluded from that study, I came to the same conclusion in the temple- that Jesus Christ and his Atonement are EVERYTHING. Everything is reliant and dependent on Christ’s atonement. The depth of this truth was made more evident to me today and my gratitude for my Savior was increased tremendously.

I also came to a much greater understanding and appreciation of Adam and Eve’s decision to partake of the forbidden fruit. They truly understood that it was necessary in order for the Atonement to take place. Their transgression was not a thoughtless mistake, but an act of faith.

While pondering on my true identity, I felt a great depth of purpose and divinity as a woman and a daughter of God. I gained a much greater understanding of God’s infinite love for me and of my importance to Him. To know that God’s joy and His glory comes from nothing other than His children returning to live with him and having all that He has filled my soul with great desire to do All that he wants me to do and to become what He created me to become. I want to make His joy full in me.

I know that I have been called to this mission at this time, to do my part to help lead my brothers and sisters back to Christ, that He might lead them to the Father. I know that everything that I am doing here is helping me to understand how I might more fully understand the Atonement and use it so that I can be clean to stand in the presence of my Heavenly Father and fulfill my potential as a daughter of God.

I was chastised by the Spirit for doubting too often the important revelations and impressions which I receive from the Lord. Being chastened in the Temple is not a fun experience, but the Lord Chastens those whom he loves, right? I can no longer resist the teachings that He has for me if I am to fulfill my potential and truly do His work.

I am a daughter of the Almighty God. He is my Father and Jehovah is my brother. The battle has already been won. I must simply choose on whose side I stand. I choose to stand on the Lords side- now and forever. There is no room for doubt. Now is the time for me to act. I will look unto Christ in every thought. I will not doubt. I will not fear. I will boldly stand as His representative and do that which is required of me so that I can stand at the last day and wear the victors crown that my joy might be full with God the Father and His Son in doing my part to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man.

Did I mention that I LOVE the Temple????

Sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

