Letter week of 9/29/2014

Momma,

Your calculations are correct- this is the last week Sister Watkins and I have together. It is really hard, but we are trying to enjoy all the time we have left together. She is still in denial that it is all coming to an end for her. I have a feeling that is how I will be in about 15 months. It is weird to think how time has been going. It seems so fast and yet so slow sometimes. But I love being here, and we are always busy so that makes everything easier.

I have been having some really awesome studies lately! I wish I had longer so that I could tell you all about them- but here is a quick thought from one of them: “That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do; not that the nature of the thing is changed, but that our power to do it is increased.” – Heber J. Grant.
Even though things are hard, we must persist and continue pushing forward. Living the gospel can be hard. But as we strive to read our scriptures daily, pray often, and keep the commandments our power and ability to do those things will increase and it will not seem so hard to do them anymore. So no matter what it is that you are struggling with, keep pushing forward! You will be blessed by your Father in Heaven with power to do that which you need to do.

The people are receiving Sister Watkins and I pretty well. Almost everyone is friendly and will talk to us for a minute, but no one is really willing to make any changes in their life. They all say, yeah I know it is true. I know that Jesus is the way and that because of Him we are saved. But they can’t comprehend that it is through our daily actions that we show our willingness to follow our Savior and it is upon us to allow His atonement to work in our lives which is how we gain salvation. They think that because they have Jesus in their heart they are saved. It is so much more than that!
Sometimes it gets frustrating, but we have been working with some people who are really awesome and every lesson is filled with the Spirit. We have a really hard time getting people to church though. we have only had one investigator to church one time… So that is probably our biggest struggle. But it is going well. The work is moving forward.

Ok, so NASA was awesome!! We got to take a tour to the Johnson Space Center and go inside the Mission Control as well as the building where the astronauts train and do their simulations. We go to see rockets and engines and all sorts of different parts of the rockets and ships. It was incredible! The only thing I didn’t like was the tour was really rushed and I didn’t have time to look at everything like I wish I could have. But it was incredible! I will send a few pictures.
The Lord is really hastening his work and it is incredible to be a part of it! I love you and hope that ya’ll are doing well! Thank you for all the prayers and the support- I can really feel it.
Love, Sister Elliott

Leave a Reply

